Debating 2022

Waikato Schools Senior Premier Cup and Waikato Schools Prizegiving: Thursday 25th August

Our Year 13 Premier team (Levi Pruden, Campbell Wood, Hitesh Malhotra, and Jovan Xin) has brought this cup back to our school after three long years. The boys debated superbly in their semi-final to defeat Hillcrest High School, then took out St Peter's School Cambridge in the final held at St Paul’s Collegiate. It was great to see so many families and friends who came to support our team.

We are privileged to have so many outstanding speakers in the team. Here is the full list of prizewinners:

 Levi Pruden was selected in the Waikato Debating Squad which went on to finish in second place at the National Schools Debate Competition

Nikash Lanka: Junior Open Top 5 Speaker

Ishaan Singh: Senior Open Top 5 Speaker

Levi Pruden, Alexander Mayo, and Josef Gillgren: Senior Premier Top 5 Speakers

Wyatt Winke and Hitesh Malhotra: Most Diligent Speakers

 Levi Pruden: Top Student Adjudicator

Impromptu Debating Tournaments

Students discuss a wide and diverse range of topics such as, “Tom should eat Jerry”, with very little preparation time. Great skills are needed to rebut the opposition’s points. This made for two very entertaining weekends of debating where our students won both cups.

 Arguably the best Cup: Juniors 6th August

Four junior teams were brave enough to have a go. One team (Nikash Lanka, Conor McCormack, and Ayaan Harunani) won back-to-back debates to take out the final. Nikash Lanka was named Best Speaker of the tournament.

 Deakin Cup: 13th August

Two senior teams entered this tournament. Both our teams progressed well and went head to head in the final. Our Year 13 debaters (Levi Pruden and Hitesh Malhotra) emerged as the Deakin Cup winners with our Year 12 debaters (Josef Gillgren and Wyatt Winke) as runners up.

Most distinguished speaking style went to Levi Pruden while Josef Gillgren won Best Speaker of the tournament.

Let's Talk About It Cup (Prepared Speech Competition): 17th August

 Josef Gillgren (Year 12) finished in 3rd place at this event with his speech on Big Brother.

Congratulations to all of our talented debaters and thanks and congratulations to Ms Melissa Young and Ms Michelle Coursey for their support and efforts in helping our debaters achieve these results.  Tino pai!