HBHS win New Zealand Secondary Schools Water Polo Championships

The HBHS Division 1 Water Polo team is the newly-crowned National Secondary Schools Champion, having beaten Rangitoto College 6 - 5 in the finals on Saturday the 1st of May.  Not only is this the first time that HBHS has won this title, it's the first time the trophy has been won by a school outside of Auckland and Wellington.  The team had been unbeaten all season, and this continued through into the National Tournament.  In pool play, HBHS beat Sacred Heart 13 - 2, St Peter's 21 - 3, Auckland Grammar 7 - 5, Westlake Boys' High School 11 - 4, and Rangitoto College 6 - 5.  In the semi-final the team faced off against local rivals Tauranga Boys' College, beating them 6 - 5, and in a repeat result of their earlier match, beat Rangitoto College once again, 6 - 5.  Keran Van Staden was named Most Valuable Player of the Tournament, and was the scorer of the final goal which put the team ahead with only seconds left on the clock.  Huge congratulations to all of the team on this historic result, to Teacher in Charge and Head Coach, Mr Rahiti Teokotai-White, Coach Ms Roana Paterson, and Manager Mr Mark Harvey.